The past week and a half has had me pretty pinned down. And though I’ve been neglecting my internet soapbox, I haven’t been neglecting RPG’s. The reason I haven’t been writing here, is because a major deadline for my research project was just yesterday. I presented to my class the concept for my upcoming game, “Dice and Devilry” (title likely to change). Below is Ibn Al Arabi – Sufi theorist and poet from the 13th century… [He’s here because I like him.]

 And while not many of my  classmates had ever played a role-  playing game before, the ones who  had seemed most interested in the  way I’m choosing to represent the  divine in my RPG.

In medieval dream and vision  literature the ineffible divine is  represented  in paradox. This is a  trend that comes straight out of  sacred texts.

Player characters exposed to such  paradox in “Dice and Devilry”  might become “god-drunk” with divine overload (I believe it was Rumi who first coined the term “god-drunk”). But the real role of paradox within my own game, is in the implication of reinterpretation. What I’m arguing is, paradox is a sort of invitation to the reader to participate in expanding the mythology. In the act of making sense of the contradictions, one must limit the paradox into personal terms of understanding. “The Book of Revelation” was central to every medieval Christian’s life (even if they couldn’t read, because they’d hear about it from someone else), because this is the text that placed such an emphasis on the otherworld.

The medieval christian experience was fundamentally defined by the belief in a heavenly reality which promised a stability the world of flesh could not. “Dice & Devilry” is a game about finding order in a world after the apocalypse. The game is designed with the hope that players will be exposed to religious symbolism throughout the game, and be forced to make their own interpretations (which the gamemaster will utilize to shape the game world).

If you have interest in playtesting this game in the future let me know.

