I’ve FINALLY been able to play-test VtR “New Wave” with some of my buddies. Before play started one of my comrades said something to the effect of “this will be a fun one-shot game, but I don’t see how this would work as an ongoing setting.” By the end of the night he had said that this supplement provided his favorite VtR session to date. To save time we played the characters and the scenario provided. And while my friends seemed more interested in pursuing their own insidious goals (rather than the one presented in the book), the characters made good use of the NPC’s presented throughout the text.

As I mentioned before, the tone of “New Wave” is noticeably different than the tone  presented in the core rulebook. Thus, I allowed my players some leniency for their vampiric eccentricities. To be honest, I’m not very interested in fast-forwarding the campaign. The eighties are ripe with the self-destructive abandon my friends most appreciate in role-playing games. Perhaps the photograph above is misleading. The one below is a bit more appropriate. I’ll be honest – I’ll never look as cool as this.

 So far the players have taken a particularly anti-communist stance, going so far as to challenge a particularly cranky  Carthian elder. This of course will not be without consequence. Already the players have been attacked during daylight hours. Though danger is beginning to snowball,  my players are pushers. None of them complain over characters lost to final death, and since I promised this game as a one-shot, risks are running rampant. But who knows, this game might transform into an ongoing campaign. But it will be tough to pry my friends’ attention away from “A Song of Ice and Fire: RPG,” given the recent success of the HBO “A Game of Thrones” series.

